Welcome!!!

Hello everyone,

This is the first of many entries I am looking very forward to writing. I am very passionate about food and find myself with many things to say. Now I have a place to write them. The blog will revolve around events and happenings at the Black Kettle Bistro but will not be limited to that. I want to spur an active discussion about food, cooking and all things culinary. If more people can learn where their food comes from, how its prepared and how to prepare it than more people will develop a passion for cooking and eating properly. Much of what I will discuss will revolve around the culinary scene in Windsor specifically with references to many things going on all around the world. I hope I can keep people engaged and wanting seconds. I thank you in advance for your time and attention. Please comment on what you read. I want to foster active discussions and get real feedback. till next time.

9 Responses to Welcome!!!

  1. tomlucier says:

    Welcome to the world of connectivity and an interactive existence on the web!
    Rino! Yes!

  2. darren says:

    Glad to see you on here. I can’t stop thinking about my lunch there the other day. It was so good. I even want back later for dinner, but you were closed. Not sure if you close early on certain days. I’ll have to check next time I’m in which I hope will be tomorrow.

  3. Rino says:

    hey darren, we actually close at 3 everyday for the time being. we are opening later starting next week. thanks for the feedback. i actually respect your opinion. gaging from what you mentioned about taloola and posted about chanosos i can see you really know what you’re talking about.

  4. darren says:

    Hi Rino, It was unlike anything I ate before and excellent. I’ll be sure to get in earlier than 3, so thanks for the tip. I used to work in a few restaurants years ago when I was a lot younger. The strangest was the Chicken Court on Pelissier back in the 80s. Lots of fun memories. I’m far from an expert on cooking though. I just enjoy eating good food.

  5. Rino says:

    the essence of a so called “expert” on food is simply a love of eating. when people get to a point where they LOVE the food they’re eating they won’t settle for anything less. The Chicken Court was a Windsor institution. that must have been quite an experience. thanks again for the feedback and please whenever you have something to say please do so. I need people like you to help keep things on track.

  6. darren says:

    I took a lot of photos in there long ago. I was working there when they went bankrupt too and we were all given notice. I always felt bad for the bakery ladies who had been working there so many years. They had quite the bakery in the basement. Here’s a couple photos:

    and the dreaded closing

    You can delete this comment after if you like. When you were talking about that huge catering job it reminded me of one I worked on for them where it was held out at one of the aircraft hangars at the Airport. Or another at a Mosque. I think the Airport one was the largest though and was over 500 people. I began there as a dishwasher, then bus boy, prep cook and got into working on their catering business. I used to live just down the street on Pelissier back then. I always loved downtown and still do.

  7. BBS says:

    Welcome to blogging and congratulations for taking a dive off the deep end.

  8. So glad you are online and promoting food discussions. Please let me know about any local ingredients you use so I can add you to my blog.

  9. Cristina says:

    Hey Rino

    Auguri, I love the blog. I am looking forward to being entertained as well as educated.
    still gotta make it in to see you soon!
    Ciao Cri

Leave a Reply

